Four squares about embodiment

Another participant in the Soapworks project (see previous post), David Alesworth, was initiating a Bristol Quilt and inviting contributions of decorated sewn squares to be added in to it.

I made four 30cm grey cotton squares. They arose out of a sewn sculpture I made recently of tumbling bodies, two of them were hands reaching out, they were clearly desperate hands, then there had to be a foot, and then a brain . They were linked by a theme of embodiment. I think this time of extended isolation and sequestration has brought up considerations of the body; so much time being spent in cyberspace on one hand and the magnified importance of meals and cooking as markers in the day on the other.

  1. The embodied brain

2. Hand, Not Waving

NotWaving

Not waving

SmNotWavingTx

Text, not waving

3. Hand, Touch me

SmTouch

Touch me


SmTouchTx

Text Touch me I’m lonely

4. Foot Stepping Out

SmStep

Stepping out

The stuffed limbs stand up when the squares lie flat, but hung vertically they drooped rather sadly over their text, so shall have to organise them a stiff backing if the quilt is to be displayed hanging.

2 thoughts on “Four squares about embodiment

Leave a comment